Young set for Club milestone


A milestone is on the cards tomorrow night in Sydney with goalkeeper Jamie Young in contention play his 100th Hyundai A-League game for the Club.

However Young, who would become the 13th BRFC players to reach the milestone, says all focus is on the task at hand tomorrow night against the Sky Blues at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium (6:30pm KO QLD time).

The Roar are coming off the back of a commanding 2-0 win over the Mariners and looking to kick-on with a win in the Harbour City against a side they’ve already had the better of in recent months.

“It would be nice to reach 100 in the [Hyundai] A-League because we only play 26 to 30 games a season but the focus is really on the game against Sydney,” Young said.

“To get a result we all have to play our part individually – I always go into every game thinking about how I can perform at my best to contribute to team success.


“I think the main attitude to have for this game is to really take the game to Sydney, work as a team, be cohesive and hard to beat.

“We showed great discipline against Central Coast and we’re going to need to have that same discipline and drive against Sydney.”

Saturday’s game is set to be a tight encounter with the sides only marginally split throughout 42 previous meetings (W15, D13, L14) & the Roar having taken the most recent clash, winning August’s FFA Cup Round of 32 meeting 2-0.

“If we can get the win, it will be quite a galvanising win because Sydney are one of the best teams in the competition at the moment,” Young added.

“We really have to focus on us and how we can affect the game and have the same energy we showed in the early parts of the game last week.

“We showed in the FFA Cup that we’re capable of beating them and we’ve got some good results so there’s no reason we can’t go on and win the game.


Hyundai A-League Round 9: Sydney FC v Brisbane Roar
Netstrata Jubilee Stadium, Sydney
Saturday, 7 December (6:30pm KO QLD time)

Sydney FC squad: 1.Andrew REDMAYNE (gk), 2.Patrick FLOTTMANN, 4.Alex WILKINSON (c), 5.Alex BAUMJOHANN, 6.Ryan McGOWAN, 7.Michael ZULLO, 8.Paulo RETRE, 9.Adam LE FONDRE, 10.Milos NINKOVIC, 11.Kosta BARBAROUSES, 12.Trent BUHAGIAR, 13.Brandon O’NEILL, 16.Joel KING, 17.Anthony CACERES, 18.Luke IVANOVIC, 20.Tom HEWARD-BELLE (gk), 21.Harry VAN DER SAAG, 23.Rhyan GRANT, 24.Marco TILIO, 26.Luke BRATTAN **2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 21.Harry VAN DER SAAG (promoted), 24.Marco TILIO (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: 3.Ben WARLAND (ACL – indefinite), 19. Chris ZUVELA (knee)


Brisbane Roar FC squad: 1.Max CROCOMBE (gk), 2.Scott NEVILLE, 4.Daniel BOWLES, 5.Tom ALDRED (c), 6.Macaulay GILLESPHEY, 7.Jai INGHAM, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 9.Roy O’DONOVAN, 10.Bradden INMAN, 12.Aiden O’NEILL, 13.Stefan MAUK, 14.George MELLS, 20.Aaron AMADI-HOLLOWAY, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 22.Jake McGING, 23.Dylan WENZEL-HALLS, 25.Rahmat AKBARI, 26.Jay O’SHEA, 28.Izaack POWELL, 29.Jordan COURTNEY-PERKINS **2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 14.George MELLS (promoted), 22.Jake MCGING (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: Nil

Referee: Alireza Faghani
Assistant Referee 1: Ashley Beecham
Assistant Referee 2: Matthew McOrist
Fourth Official: Ben Abraham
VAR: Kurt Ams

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 7:00pm (AEDT) and Sky Sport 7 (New Zealand), Kayo Sports (www.kayosports.com.au) and MyFootball Live App, Live Fast and Data Free for Telstra mobile customers

Western United