2020/21 A-League Men Season Review

The 2020/21 A-League Men’s season saw Brisbane Roar finish in fourth position and play finals football in what was the club’s 16th season in the top-flight.

The sides campaign ended with a 2-1 defeat in the Elimination Final against Adelaide United with an Alex Parsons goal not enough after a Tomi Juric brace put the visitors in the box seat early on.

Warren Moon took charge of what was his first full season at the helm in Brisbane and he brought in three players he’d previously coached at Lions in the NPL Queensland in Jesse Daley, Josh Brindell-South and Danny Kim.

Japanese duo Riku Danzaki and Masato Kudo also arrived at the club with the former finishing as the club’s top scorer with nine goals which was the seventh highest tally of any player in the competition that season.

Dylan Wenzel-Halls enjoyed his most prolific A-League season to date, finding the back of the net seven times while Alex Parsons enjoyed a breakout debut season and caught the eye with three goals in the closing stages of the season.

Jay O’Shea enjoyed another fine season in the midfield earning him the Gary Wilkins Medal and a spot in the competition’s Team of the Season.

The 2020/21 campaign was heavily affected by the COVID-19 pandemic with the Australia Cup being cancelled and Roar forced to withdraw from the AFC Champions League.

Brisbane Roar 2020/2021 A-League Men Season

Position: 4th (40 points)
Wins: 11
Losses: 8
Draws: 7
Goals Scored: 36
Goals Conceded: 28
Biggest Win: 4-0 vs. Central Coast (A) (28 April 2021, Round 20)
Highest Home Attendance: 9,279 (19 December 2020 vs. Melbourne City, Round 1)
Clean Sheets: 6 (Jamie Young)

Captain: Tom Aldred

Top Goal Scorers:
Riku Danzaki:
9 (Finished equal 7th for the A-League Golden Boot Award)
Dylan Wenzel-Halls:
Jay O’Shea:
Macaulay Gillesphey:
Alex Parsons:
3 (2 in the regular season, 1 in the finals)

BRFC 20/21 A-League Men’s squad:

Goalkeepers: 1. Macklin Freke, 21. Jaimie Young

Defenders: 2. Scott Neville, 3. Corey Brown, 5. Tom Aldred (C), 6. Macaulay Gillesphey, 16. Josh Brindell-South, 19. Jack Hingert, 22. Antonne Burke-Gilroy, 27. Kai Trewin, 28. Izaack Powell, 29. Jordan Courtney-Perkins,

Midfielders: 10. Riku Danzaki, 15. Jesse Daley, 25. Rahmat Akbari, 26. Jay O’Shea

Forwards: 9. Masato Kudo, 11. Joe Champness, 17. Golgol Mebrahtu, 23. Dylan Wenzel-Halls, 34. Alex Parsons, 37. Cyrus Dehmie

Head Coach: Warren Moon

Award Winners:
Club’s Golden boot winner: Riku Danzaki
Players’ player of the year: Jay O’Shea
Player of the Year (Gary Wilkins Medal): Jay O’Shea
Breakthrough Player of the year: Kai Trewin
A-League Award Winners:
Fair Play Award: Brisbane Roar
Team of the Season: Jay O’Shea