2022/23 A-League Men Season Review

Ahead of Brisbane Roar’s 20th season in 2024/25 we’re winding back the clock and taking a look a year’s gone by.

The 2022/23 Isuzu UTE A-League was Brisbane Roar’s 18th season in the top flight with the club finishing in eighth position.

Despite missing finals for a second successive season and going through a change in coach after Warren Moon’s dismissal, Brisbane Roar came out of the season as the league’s third best defence.

Roar only lost once in their opening ten games, but only won three of those games, scoring nine goals and conceding seven.

BECOME A MEMBER: 2024/25 Memberships on sale now

Under Moon, Brisbane played a lot more conservatively and were difficult to breakdown, but lacked cutting edge going back the other way – underperforming their xG by -8.16, which is only second behind Melbourne Victory.

After Moon’s departure in February, the Roar were a lot more expressive, playing with more freedom under interim coach Nick Green.

Jay O’Shea finished as the sides top scorer with nine goals while the likes of Henry Hore, and Jez Lofthouse rose to prominence in the sides attack.

Former English Premier League forward Charlie Austin, headlined the club’s recruitment with the Englishman scoring four goals in eleven competitive appearances for Brisbane.

The 2022/23 season also saw the Roar reach the Australia Cup Semi Finals for the first time in their history with wins over Western Sydney Wanderers, Heidelberg United, Avondale and Adelaide United before bowing to Sydney United on penalties in the final four.

Brisbane Roar 2022/2023 A-League Men Season
Position: 8th (30 Points)
Wins: 7
Losses: 10
Draws: 9
Goals Scored: 26
Goals Conceded: 33
Biggest Win: 3–0 vs. Newcastle Jets (H) (8 April 2023, Round 23)
Highest Home Attendance: 12,063 vs. Sydney FC (24 April 2022, Round 25)
Clean Sheets: 8 (7 for Jordan Holmes, 1 for Macklin Freeke)
Captain: Tom Aldred

Top Goal Scorers:
Jay O’Shea: 9 (finished equal 7th for the A-League’s Golden Boot)
Carlo Armiento: 3
Henry Hore: 2
Nikola Mileusnic: 2

BRFC 22/23 A-League Men’s squad:

Goalkeepers: 1. Macklin Freke, 23. Jordan Holmes

Defenders: 2. Scott Neville, 3. Jordan Courtney-Perkins, 5. Tom Aldred (C), 15. Noah Smith, 16. Josh Brindell-South, 19. Jack Hingert, 27. Kai Trewin, 32. James Nikolovski

Midfielders: 7. Rahmat Akbari, 11. Jez Lofthouse, 12. Taras Gomulka, 26. Jay O’Shea, 35. Louis Zabala

Forwards: 10. Nikola Mileusnic, 13. Henry Hore, 14. Robbie Kruse, 17. Carlo Armiento, 22. Stefan Šćepović, 28. Joe Knowles, 99. Ayom Majok

Head Coach: Warren Moon (to 20th of February), Nick Green (from 21st of February)

Club Award Winners:
Club’s Golden boot winner: Jay O’Shea 
Young Player of the year: Kai Trewin
Players’ player of the year: Jay O’Shea
Player of the Year (Gary Wilkins Medal): Tom Aldred

A-League Award Winners:
A-League Fair Play Award: Brisbane Roar
Team of the season members: Jay O’Shea (substitute)