ALM R17 Preview: Perth Glory vs Brisbane Roar

Brisbane Roar continue their pursuit of the Isuzu UTE A-League top six when they take on Perth Glory in Round 17 action at HBF Park on Saturday night.

With just ten rounds remaining of the 2023/24 regular season Roar sit eighth on 21 points, just two points shy of the competition’s top six.

Roar come into Saturday’s match off the back of a stunning 5-1 win over defending Premiers, Melbourne City last weekend thanks to goals from Thomas Waddingham, Kai Trewin, Jay O’Shea and Keegan Jelacic.

Perth Glory start the weekend in eleventh position of 16 points and played out a 3-3 draw with Adelaide United in their last outing, although Alen Stajcic’s side are on a four-match unbeaten run.

Saturday’s match holds extra significance for Roar Coach, Ruben Zadkovich and his Assistant, Chris Coyne after the pair lead Perth Glory last season.

The Roar playing squad also includes a number of former Glory players with Keegan Jelacic, Antonee Burke-Gilroy, Carlo Armiento and Scott Neville having all previously played A-League football in the west.

Glory attacking duo, Adam Taggart and David Williams complete the Glory contingent of ex-Roar players after Luke Ivanovic departed the club to sign in Finland with Veikkausliiga side, FC Lahti last week.



Club captain, Tom Aldred, is available and has been named in the 20-player squad after overcoming concerns regarding calf tightness that saw him sidelined for Roar’s last two matches.

Glory will be without midfielder Mustafa Amini as he recovers from a rib injury, while Johnny Koutroumbis’ hip problem will also rule him out. Stefan Colakovski returns to the selection mix having missed Glory’s draw in Adelaide game due to suspension.


BRFC Squad:  1. Macklin FREKE (GK), 3. Corey BROWN, 5. Tom ALDRED (C), 6. Joe CALETTI, 7. Florin BERENGUER, 8. Jonas MARKOVSKI, 10. Nikola MILEUSNIC, 12. Taras GOMULKA, 13. Henry HORE, 16. Thomas WADDINGHAM, 17. Carlo ARMIENTO, 19. Jack HINGERT, 20. Marco ROJAS, 21. Antonee BURKE-GILROY, 23. Keegan JELACIC, 26. Jay O’Shea, 27. Kai TREWIN, 29. Matt ACTON (GK), 32. James NIKOLOVSKI, 35. Louis ZABALA


Perth Glory Squad: 1.Oli SAIL (gk), 3.Jacob MUIR, 4.Luke BODNAR, 7.Stefan COLAKOVSKI, 9.David WILLIAMS, 13.Cameron COOK (gk), 14.Riley WARLAND, 15.Aleksandar SUSNJAR, 16.Josh RAWLINS, 17.Jarrod CARLUCCIO, 19.Trent OSTLER, 20.Giordano COLLI, 22.Adam TAGGART (co-c), 23.Daniel BENNIE, 27.Jayden GORMAN, 28.Kaelan MAJEKODUNMI, 29.Darryl LACHMAN, 31.Joel ANASMO, 34.Andriano LEBIB, 77.Bruce KAMAU

Ins: 7.Stefan COLAKOVSKI, 28.Kaelan MAJEKODUNMI, 34.Andriano LEBIB
Outs: 2.Johnny KOUTROUMBIS
Unavailable: 2.Johnny KOUTROUMBIS (injured), 5.Mark BEEVERS (co-c) (injured), 8.Mustafa AMINI (c) (injured), 11.Adam ZIMARINO (injured), 21.Antonis MARTIS (injured)


Goals from Henry Hore and Jay O’Shea sealed all three points in a 2-1 win over the Glory when the sides battled it out in Isuzu UTE A-League Round 5 action at Suncorp Stadium in November.

Played: 53
Brisbane Roar wins: 27
Perth Glory wins: 15
Draws: 11

KEY STATS Brought to you by Opta:

– Brisbane Roar FC have won five of their last seven A-League Men games against the Perth Glory (L2) including their last two in a row each by a score of 2-1 on the day; the last time they won more than two successive games against the Glory was a four-game streak from December 2007 to January 2009.

– Brisbane Roar FC have forced 10.7 high turnovers per game this A-League Men season, the second most of any team, while no team has scored more goals from high turnovers than the Roar (6) this campaign.

– Carlo Armiento (Brisbane Roar FC) has made 16 shots at goal when playing as a substitute in the 2023/24 A-League Men season, the joint-most of any player in the competition; though, he’s yet to score a goal this season.

– Jack Hingert (248) is two away from his 250th appearance for Brisbane Roar FC in the A-League Men.

– Brisbane Roar FC (44) are six away from scoring their 50th goal at HBF Park in the A-League Men.

Isuzu UTE A-League Men 2023/24 – Round 17 Perth Glory v Brisbane Roar
HBF Park, Perth
Saturday, 17 February (8:45pm AEST KO)