ALW R21 Preview: Brisbane Roar v Perth Glory 

Brisbane Roar return to Perry Park this Sunday in Round 21 to take on Perth Glory as they look to finish their season on a high note with two rounds remaining.

Roar are full of confidence after defeating Adelaide United on last Saturday at Marden Sports Complex in a 2-1 victory and will look to bring this form into Sunday’s showdown. 


Keeley Richards was pleased to get three points in Adelaide, and with Roar’s last two games at Perry Park, her eyes are set on all six points to finish the season strong and that starts with a win over Perth Glory this Sunday. 

“We want to finish the season as strong as possible, all want to put on a good show and hopefully get the job done!”

“The game last time was an absolute thriller. I think we probably should have got more out of the game last time so hopefully we can go out there and put our best foot forward and come away with the win.”


The last time Roar faced Perth Glory ended in a 0-0 stalemate at Macedonia Park in Round 13 that saw neither team manage to find the back of the net after 90 minutes. 

Mia Corbin displayed the first opportunity for Roar in the 32nd minute with a long-range effort that flew over the crossbar. 

Moments before half-time, Perth Glory committed a handball in the box to give Roar a chance to take the lead. Captain Eash Norrie stepped up for the penalty and struck the bottom right corner, but Glory goalkeeper Morgan Aquino made the save. 

In the 73rd minute, Holly McQueen made a stellar defensive run to block striker Millie Farrow from getting a shot away. 


Games: 15

Brisbane win: 5

Perth win: 8

Draws: 3

KEY STATS – Brought to you by Opta

  • Perth Glory are undefeated in their last five A-League Women matches against Brisbane Roar FC (W4 D1) and have kept a clean sheet across their last four meetings in that span (W3 D1); it’s the Glory’s longest unbeaten run against the Roar in the history of the competition.
  • Brisbane Roar FC will be looking to avoid back-to-back defeats in Queensland in the A-League Women for the first time since February 2022, following their 0-2 loss against Central Coast Mariners in their last match in their home state (9 March 2024).
  • Perth Glory have made 10 errors leading to shots by their opposition this A-League Women season, three more than any other team in the campaign; no team has logged fewer in this category than Brisbane Roar FC (4).
  • Morgan Aquino (Perth Glory) has made a league-high 124 saves this A-League Women season and has prevented 7.2 goals (28 goals conceded, 35.2 xG on Target Conceded) which is nearly twice as many as any other goalkeeper in the competition.
  • Tameka Yallop (Brisbane Roar FC) has scored exactly one goal in each of her last three A-League Women matches at Perry Park; although, she’s scored only one goal across her last nine games against Perth Glory in the competition.
  • Sharn Freier has created 40 chances in the 2023/24 Liberty A-League season, the third most of any player in the competition (1 point behind Wurigumula who has created 41 chances).
  • Brisbane have only lost 1 of their 5 games so far at Perry Park this season, with their only loss coming from a 2-1 defeat to Melbourne Victory in Round 15.

Round 21 Liberty A-League Women Squad: 

1. Keeley RICHARDS, 2. Rebecca KIRKUP, 3. Deborah-Anne DE LA HARPE, 4. Kijah STEPHENSON, 5. Jenna MCCORMICK, 6. Holly MCQUEEN, 7. Ayesha NORRIE (C) 8. Mariel HECHER, 9. Mia CORBIN, 11. Sharn FREIER, 12. Tamar LEVIN, 13. Tameka YALLOP, 14. Sarah O’DONOGHUE, 17. Leah SCARPELLI, 18. Teagan THOMPSON, 19. Hollie PALMER, 20. Bonnie DAVIES, 21. Isabella SHUTTLEWORTH, 23. Ashlee BRODIGAN, 32. Alicia WOODS




Liberty A-League Women 2023/24 – Round 21: Brisbane Roar FC v Perth Glory FC
Perry Park, Bowen Hills
Sunday, 24 March
KO 3:00pm AEST