Brisbane Roar Fans’ Hyundai A-League Team of the Decade


Our fans have spoken! We asked our fans to select their Brisbane Roar Hyundai A-League Team of the Decade (2010-2019) & the results are in.

A long list of players have pulled on the famous orange & black with plenty involved in record-breaking & Championship-winning seasons.

TICKETS: Be there for the BRFC Legends Charity Match this Saturday

Played out in a 4-3-3 formation, take a look below at who you have selected as the members of our Hyundai A-League Team of the Decade!


Michael Theo (72.5% total votes)
A triple-Championship winner with the Club, Michael Theo will long be remembered for back-to-back heroic saves in the shootout of the 2011 decider. With 159 games under his belt for the Club, the three-time Goalkeeper of the Year will go down as one of the league’s greatest shot stoppers.



Shane Stefanutto (15.8% total votes)
Another triple-Championship winner, Stefanutto was a key cog in the Roar defence for the better part of the first half of the decade, racking up 127 games across six seasons on the left side of defence.

Matt Smith (19.8% total votes)
He lifted three Hyundai A-League Championship trophies & is a deserved member of the Roar’s Team of the Decade. A rock in the heart of defence, Smith followed in Matt McKay’s footsteps as a Club captain, taking the Club to titles in the 2011/12 & 2013/14 seasons, while also playing his part in the inaugural title win as well.

Jade North (16.7% total votes)
One of the Hyundai A-League’s most experienced & versatile defenders, North was key in the Roar’s return to the summit of Australian football in the 2013/14 campaign. Named as Vice-Captain throughout his time at the Club, he accrued 115 appearances across six seasons in the Brisbane orange.


Ivan Franjic (19.8 total votes)
A fan-favourite during his first & second stints with the Club, Franjic was one of the league’s finest wide men with an uncanny knack to get forward & compliment an already firing attack. Another triple-Championship winner earning a thoroughly deserved place in the squad.


Thomas Broich (31.3% total votes)
Arguably the Hyundai A-League’s greatest ever player, the German maestro will long haunt the memories of cohorts of Hyundai A-League defenders. Known for his incredible composure & deft control, the 181-game veteran is one of the league’s finest big-game players and would be close the first player picked in any all-time Hyundai A-League sides.

Matt McKay (27.5% total votes)
The Club’s games record holder epitomises what Brisbane Roar is about. A World Cup representative, a two-time Hyundai A-League Champion & a Brisbane Roar Hall of Fame member. His 272-game Club career surpasses any other by more than three seasons.

Erik Paartalu (11.1% total votes)
That moment, we all know what that moment was. The towering midfielder provided arguably the greatest moment in Hyundai A-League history, and has silverware to boot with a tremendous career in Brisbane orange.

Henrique, Broich, Berisha


Besart Berisha (29.7% total votes)
The league’s greatest goal scorer found his feet under Ange Postecoglou at the Roar, scoring 46 goals across three seasons at the Club. More importantly, he combined with German Thomas Broich for two decisive equalisers in the 2012 & 2014 deciders & still holds the record for the league’s fastest ever hat-trick.

Henrique (25.7% total votes)
The Slippery Fish quickly became a fan favourite with the Roar faithful & it’s clear to see the elusive striker shares the same love for the fans & the Club. An emotional press conference was the end to a thrilling career at the Club which included three Championships, two Premierships, 45 goals & two Grand Final strikes.

Jamie Maclaren (23.6% total votes)
Two seasons at the Club provided the foundations for the striker to launch into the Socceroos team & opportunities overseas. Maclaren found the back of the net more than 20 times in both seasons leading the Roar attack, proving time & time again to be the man for the moment in big games.

Bushfire relief