Brisbane Youth stay unbeaten

Brisbane Roar Youth have recorded their second win of the National Youth League campaign, thanks to goals from Jacob McLean and captain Chris Bush.

Brisbane Roar Youth have recorded their second win of the National Youth League campaign, thanks to goals from Jacob McLean and captain Chris Bush.

Both sides fielded three Hyundai A-League squad members, but it was the exuberance of Brisbane-s youth brigade which was too much to overcome for the side sitting in bottom place on the National Youth League ladder.

Brisbane burst out of the blocks, looking lively going forward from the opening whistle with James Meyer and Matt Byrne creating trouble for the Melbourne defence from the right wing.

However it was the away side against the run of play who created the first chance of the game, overage players Marvin Angulo and Geoff Kellaway combining well across the park, but Kellaway-s shot from just inside the box failed to hit the target.

Soon after, Meyer unleashed 30-yard screamer on his unfavoured left foot which forced a forceful save from Victory ‘keeper Sebastian Mattei and although Brisbane-s Jacob McLean was quick to react, he wasn-t as fast as the scrambling Melbourne defenders who quickly put the ball out to safety.

Defender Dane Milovanovic tried his luck from a long range free kick on the half hour mark, before Brisbane had a deserved lead with three minutes remaining in the half.

Daniel Bowles, returning to the starting eleven after his stint at the AFC U-19 Championships in China, down the right flank, picked out McLean in front of goal, who buried his shot past Mattei to give Brisbane the advantage.

Heading into the break, the away side almost had an instant reply through a stinging shot by Luke O-Dea but he was denied by a superb diving save by Brisbane custodian Andrew Redmayne.

Brisbane started the second half with the same attacking flair they showed in the first, going close to extending their lead just minutes after the interval.

A neat threaded ball found McLean with just Mattei to beat, but the Melbourne goalkeeper stood tall to deny the striker a second goal.

After brilliant work from Meyer down the wing, a great chance fell for Alistair Quinn but while his left-footed effort was on target, it was not enough to beat Mattei who was having a solid performance for the visitors.

On 58 minutes, Brisbane had a two goal buffer when skipper Chris Bush received a well-weighted through ball from the midfield and placed a curling ball past the Melbourne ‘keeper and into the bottom corner of the net.

Even with Brisbane-s dominance in the midfield, the away side managed to reduce the deficit, finding a goal through substitute James Kalifatidi with 20 minutes left on the clock.

Melbourne had a golden opportunity to equalise through Marvin Angulo, however Redmayne-s outcoming presence was enough to distract the Melbourne striker.

Brisbane started to regain their momentum with Luke Brattan looking lively in the final third, before a stunning ball from McLean almost released strike partner McVey in front of goal.

Melbourne had two clear cut opportunities to find a last minute equaliser as full time drew closer, but Brisbane gloveman Redmayne was resilient between the posts and the home side hung on to stretch their unbeaten start to the season to five games.

Brisbane Roar Youth 2 (Jacob McLean 42-, Christopher Bush 57-)
Melbourne Victory Youth 1 (James Kalifatidis 70-)
Spencer Park, Brisbane
Sunday, 24 October 2010
Matt Gillett

Brisbane Roar line-up: 1. Andrew REDMAYNE (gk), 3. Alistair QUINN, 4. Matthew BYRNE, 5. Daniel BOWLES, 6. Jack BOXALL (11. Joshua McVEY 60-), 7. Christopher BUSH (c), 10. Jacob McLEAN, 12. Kenneth DOUGALL (14. Ross ARCHIBALD 56-), 13. Dane MILOVANOVIC, 15. Luke BRATTAN, 18. James MEYER (9. Matthew THURTELL 60-)

Substitutes Not Used: 20. Matthew ACTON (gk)

Yellow Cards: Jack BOXALL 33-, Andrew REDMAYNE 66-, Joshua McVEY 90-

Red Cards: Nil

Melbourne Victory line-up: 1. Sebastian MATTEI (gk), 2. Luke PILKINGTON, 3. Evan BERGER, 4. Stephen HATZIKOSTAS (6. Paulo RETRE 58-), 5. Petar FRANJIC, 7. Geoff KELLAWAY, 8. Diogo FERREIRA, 9. Marvin ANGULO, 11. David STIRTON (12. James KALIFATIDI 56-), 14. Luke O-DEA (10. Damir LOKVANCIC 51-) 17. Matthew FOSCHINI

Substitutes Not Used: 20. Alastair BRAY (gk)

Yellow Cards: Nil

Red Cards: Nil