Grace Kuilamu signs first A-League scholarship contract with Roar

Brisbane Roar is delighted to welcome 16-year-old striker Grace Kuilamu to the club on a scholarship contract ahead of the 2023/24 Liberty A-League season.  

Kuilamu played her junior football at Souths United FC, where she remained until age 12 before joining the QAS U13’s until now.  

After impressing at NPLW level with the QAS, the youngster was spotted by Garrath McPherson at a Junior Matilda’s camp in South Korea and was presented with a golden opportunity in the A-League.  

Able to play on both wings, the versatile attacker became part of the U17 Australian National team in October 2022 with fellow Roar teammate Ruby Cuthbert and has continued to improve and develop herself as a footballer to earn a scholarship contract with Queensland’s only A-League team.  

The young gun looks forward to gaining experience by playing alongside her teammates and enjoying a new challenge.  

“I’m very excited to be playing with Brisbane Roar this year,” Kuilamu said.  

“I’m looking forward to gaining experience from the team and learning to improve in the position I want to play, which is striker,” she added.  

“I just want to have fun in the A-League, it’s definitely going to be a challenge but it’s going to be great.”  

Head Coach Garrath McPherson describes Kuilamu as “one of the highest potential young goal-scorers we have in Queensland.” 

“She has had a wonderful season in the senior NPLW competition, and for the U17 National team. For a player of her age, she has a bright future ahead of her. I am excited to have her as a part of the Brisbane Roar to continue her journey in Queensland,” McPherson said.  

“Grace has a great attitude towards learning. She has so many amazing people around her in the locker room that will support her across the next two years and with her growth mindset, I am confident she will grow quickly.” 

“I am also looking forward to what she brings to our team. She is a very humble, focused individual who will have an impact on her teammates.” 

Purchase a Liberty A-League membership HERE.  

 See below our Liberty A-League squad announced so far:   

10. Grace Kuilamu 

21. Isabella Shuttleworth

11. Sharn Freier 

4. Kijah Stephenson   

6. Holly McQueen   

1. Keeley Richards   

19. Hollie Palmer    

22. Ruby Cuthbert    

13. Tameka Yallop   

7. Ayesha Norrie   

8. Mariel Hecher    

5. Jenna McCormick   

15. Hannah Holgersen   

9. Mia Corbin   

16. Chelsea Blissett   

23. Ashlee Brodigan   

17. Leah Scarpelli   

A reminder that the Brisbane Roar squads page is owned and updated directly by the Australia Professional Leagues. The squad page will be updated when the APL has registered players within their system. Brisbane Roar has requested squad pages for clubs to be owned in direct control by the club.