Mulvey names 25-player squad for Townsville


Brisbane Roar Head Coach Mike Mulvey has announced a 25-player squad for the Wingate Properties Townsville Football Cup, which kicks off this Sunday in north Queensland.

The Brisbane squad heads to Townsville today ahead of the pre-season tournament which will see the three-time Hyundai A-League Champions come up against Newcastle Jets, Northern Fury and Sydney FC.

Liam Miller, Matt McKay and Luke Brattan will all feature at the Townsville Football Cup after missing the Westfield FFA Cup win over Stirling Lions while Jack Hingert, who made his Hyundai A-League debut for North Queensland Fury in 2009, has overcome illness to play.

New Albanian striker Mensur Kurtišhi is in line to make his club debut at the tournament, after returning from his wedding in Europe last week, while youth players Lachlan Jackson, Brandon Borrello, Shannon Brady and Jai Ingham have also been included in Mulvey’s squad.

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Michael THEO (gk), 2. Matthew SMITH (c), 3. Shane STEFANUTTO, 5. Corey BROWN, 6. George LAMBADARIDIS, 7. Mensur KURTISHI, 8. Steven LUSTICA, 10. HENRIQUE, 11. Liam MILLER, 12. Jean Carlos SOLORZANO, 13. Jade NORTH, 14. Daniel BOWLES, 15. James DONACHIE, 16. Devante CLUT, 17. Matt McKAY, 18. Luke BRATTAN, 19. Jack HINGERT, 20. Kofi DANNING, 21. Jamie YOUNG (gk), 22. Thomas BROICH, 23. Dimitri PETRATOS, 26. Lachlan JACKSON, 28. Brandon BORRELLO, 29. Shannon BRADY, 35. Jai INGHAM.

Match details

Sunday, 24 August- 5pm kick-off
Brisbane Roar v Newcastle Jets
Townsville Sports Reserve

Wednesday, 27 August – 5.30pm kick-off
Northern Fury v Brisbane Roar
Townsville Sports Reserve

Saturday, 30 August – 8pm kick-off
Sydney FC v Brisbane Roar
Townsville Sports Reserve

Match updates

Northern Fury will be providing live match updates on their Twitter account @NthFuryFC and will also have match highlights added to their YouTube channel post-match.

For more information, visit www.townsvillefootballcup.com.au or download the Apps for smartphone and iPad from Google Play or iTunes.