Roar overcome Wanderers in tight affair

Brisbane Roar ran out 2-1 winners over Western Sydney Wanderers in a hard-fought Foxtel National Youth League clash at Goodwin Park on Saturday afternoon.

Brisbane Roar ran out 2-1 winners over Western Sydney Wanderers in a hard-fought Foxtel National Youth League clash at Goodwin Park on Saturday afternoon.

Brandon Borrello’s first-half penalty put the Roar in front before a fine solo goal from Jake McGing saw the Wanderers draw level just before the interval.

Jai Ingham scored a cracking goal of his own just before the hour mark to secure victory for Brisbane.

Following their second goal the Roar were able to stamp their authority on the match, which had previously seen momentum swing back and forth.

The first shot on target did not arrive until the 20 minute mark, when Roar defender Lachlan Jackson headed a Shanon Brady cross straight at Wanderers’ keeper Thomas Manos.

The Wanderers created an opportunity of their own when Lawrence Hanna intercepted a Brisbane pass in midfield then spread the ball to Sean Symons on the left, but the wide man’s shot flew over the bar.

Though Brisbane dominated possession for much of the first half, Western Sydney enjoyed an extended attacking spell after the 30th minute, earning consecutive free kicks in dangerous areas which they ultimately failed to capitalise on.

The Roar managed to wrestle back control, however, and Brady’s dash into the box was halted with a foul and the referee pointed to the spot.

Borrello’s penalty smacked into the underside of the crossbar before bouncing across the line to give the home side the lead.

The Wanderers would head into the break on level terms, however, as McGing was allowed to slalom through a static Brisbane defence before knocking the ball past the keeper in what was one of the final actions of the first half.

The visitors came out firing after the interval, with Hanna hitting a shot just wide of the post from the edge of the area.

Ingham helped release the pressure valve when he broke down the left for the Roar before cutting inside and sending an effort the wrong side of the post.

Martin Lo was unable to hit the target for the Wanderers with a free kick from the edge of the box, and moments later Brisbane has re-taken the lead through Ingham.

The speedy winger broke downfield before combining with Borrello, receiving a return ball and finding the net to complete a well-executed counter attack.

Devante Clut hit a low left-footed drive towards goal in the 80th minute, but Manos had it well covered, as the Roar held on comfortably to their lead until the full-time whistle.

Brisbane Roar 2 (Borrello 37, Ingham 58)

Western Sydney Wanderers 1 (McGing 45+3)

Brisbane Roar: 1. Fraser Chalmers (gk), 2. Jaiden Walker (12. Julius Davies 60) , 3. Jack Hingert, 4. Lachlan Jackson, 5. Sam Cronin (14. Cameron Crestani 60) , 6. Benjamin Litfin (c), 7. Shannon Brady (15. Kofi Danning 60), 9. Jai Ingham, 10. Devante Clut, 11. Brandon Borrello, 16. Patrick Theodore

Western Sydney Wanderers: 1. Thomas Manos (gk) (20. Blake Tuxford 66), 2. Shayne D’Cunha, 3. Brendan Hooper (17. Matthew Stewart 60), 4. Anthony Schmidt, 5. Nicholas Olsen, 7. Lawrence Hanna , 8. Jake McGing (c), 9. Mark Cindric (13. Joshua Da Silva 60), 11. Sean Symons, 12. Joshua Barresi 6. James Baldacchino 45), 15. Martin Lo