Roar Women through to WWL decider

A heart-stopping penalty shootout led the Brisbane Roar to victory in the Westfield W League semi-final against Canberra United on Saturday afternoon.

A heart-stopping penalty shootout led the Brisbane Roar to victory in the Westfield W League semi-final against Canberra United on Saturday afternoon.

Brisbane Roar goalkeeper Casey Dumont kept Canberra to two goals in the shootout, while the Roar converted four shots with Dumont herself converting the last to solidify the win.

The win means the Roar will now advance into the Westfield W-League decider for the third year in a row.

Canberra didn-t hesitate to make a run for goals within the opening five minutes with forward Michelle Heyman taking a shot early in the game which saw the ball fly down the centre only to be saved by Dumont.

A shot in the 10th minute from Canberra midfielder Emily Van Egmond hit the crossbar and rebounded behind Dumont who was quick to hit the ball out of danger.

Hoping to make it third time lucky, Canberra forward Heyman headed directly toward the goal but an unfortunate trip cost her the shot.

Brisbane Roar drew first blood in the 23rd minute when forward Lana Harch headed the ball towards goal which rebounded off the crossbar and into the path of attacking midfielder Tameka Butt who made no mistakes from the six yard box.

Canberra attempted a quick reply with Caitlin Munoz moving forward but Dumont continued her solid presence between the sticks with an important save.

With the Roar girls determined to extend their lead in the first half, Butt received the ball from Amy Chapman in space on the wing and sending a soaring shot goalwards, only for it to be palmed away by Williams.

After a slow opening in the second half, Canberra tried to level the score with Michelle Heyman taking her fourth shout at goal which was once again save by Dumont.

Canberra finally found the equaliser in the 56th minute with Canberra forward Caitlin Munoz chipped the ball into the goal past the head of goalkeeper Dumont.

A pass from Chapman in the 61st minute saw Roar substitute Lisa De Vanna take her first shot on goal for the game which was saved by Williams.

The Roar were taking every opportunity they could to get in the lead saw De Vanna make a cross to Tameka Butt which looked like it was headed for the back of the net when a Canberra defender cleared it out of the goal.

In the 87th minute it looked like a chance for the Roar to finalise the win with another cross by De Vanna to Chapman who had a clear shot at goal which was once again saved by Canberra goalkeeper Williams.

With a 1-1 all draw at the end of the 90 minutes, the game continued into extra time.

The sixth minute of extra-time saw the Roar take the lead for the second time in the game when a cross from Laura Alleway to fellow substitute Kennya Cordner found the back of the net from the tightest of angles.

Only a minute after Cordner-s goal, Canberra United answered with a clean shot from Michelle Heyman straight to the back of the net to set up a tense finish to the game.

The Roar continued to dominate proceedings but were unable to get over the line before the final whistle, prompting a penalty shootout to decide who would win a spot in next week-s Westfield W-League grand final.

Kim Carroll, Tameka Butt, Elise Kellond-Knight and Dumont converted for the Brisbane Roar win, while only Sally Shipard and Caitlin Cooper were the only ones who could get the ball across the line for the opposition.

The Roar will take on the winner of tomorrow-s Westfield W-League semi-final between Sydney FC and Melbourne Victory, in hope of winning back the Premiership they won in the inaugural season of the competition.

Brisbane Roar Head Coach Jeff Hopkins said that he was over the moon with the effort of his team.

“Feeling fantastic, I couldn-t have asked for anymore of the girls today,” he said.

“The effort they put in today and under that kind of pressure was amazing.

“It really showed the quality of layers that we have got and the quality of football that we are playing.”

Brisbane Roar 2 (Tameka Butt 23-, Kennya CORDNER 96-)
Canberra United 2 (Caitlin MUNOZ 57-, Michele HEYMAN 97-)

Brisbane Roar: 4 (Kim CARROLL, Tameka BUTT, Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, Casey DUMONT)
Canberra United: 2 (Sally SHIPARD, Caitlin COOPER)

Ballymore Stadium, Brisbane
Jacqui Melksham
Assistant referees: Airlie Keen and Kate Jacewicz
Fourth official: Krys Szokolai

Brisbane Roar line-up: 1. Casey DUMONT (gk), 4.Claire POLKINGHORNE ( c) (2.Laura ALLEWAY 81-), 5. Brooke SPENCE, 6. Joanne BURGESS (18. Kennya CORDNER 86-), 7. Kim CARROLL, 8. Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 10. Lana HARCH (19. Lisa DE VANNA 57-), 11. Aivi LUIK, 13. Tameka BUTT, 14. Amy CHAPMAN, 16. Lauren COLTHORPE

Substitutes not used: 3. Karla REUTER, 20. Kate STEWART (gk)

Yellow Cards: Brooke SPENCE 16′, Lisa DE VANNA 103′

Red Cards: Nil

Canberra United line-up: 1. Lydia WILLIAMS (gk), 2. Caitlin COOPER, 4. Michelle HEYMAN (9. Grace GILL 111-), 6. Caitlin MUNOZ, 7. Ellie BRUSH (c ), 10. Emily VAN EGMOND (22. Georgia YEOMAN-DALE 86-), 11. Cian MACIEZEWSKI, 13. Nicole SYKES, 14. Ashleigh SYKES (19. Jennifer BISSET 75-), 15. Sally SHIPARD, 16. Elyse PERRY

Substitutes not used: 18. Grace FIELD, 20 Jocelyn MARA (gk)

Yellow Cards: Emily VAN EGMOND 1-

Red Cards: Nil

Follow Brisbane Roar on Twitter

Follow Brisbane Roar on Facebook