Roar Youth edge out AIS


A ten-man Brisbane Roar outfit have held out the Australian Institute of Sport in the National Youth League this afternoon, recording a 3-2 win at Cleveland Showgrounds.

A ten-man Brisbane Roar outfit have held out the Australian Institute of Sport in the National Youth League this afternoon, recording a 3-2 win at Cleveland Showgrounds.

The home side came firing out of the blocks and it only took them three minutes to test the visitors- defence.

Great work from defender Corey Brown down the left wing saw the ball played to Rocky Visconte, who sent a low, driving shot bound for goal but it was easily collected by AIS ‘keeper Paul Izzo.

Brisbane had reward for their early pressure, breaking the deadlock through midfielder George Lambadaridis after ten minutes.

Collecting the ball close to halfway, Lambadaridis dazzled his way through the opposing defenders and easily slid the ball under Izzo for his second goal in as many games.

The AIS had an instant reply – pouncing on hesitant Brisbane defending to strike the crossbar two minutes later and striker Anthony Proia made no mistakes when the resulting, loose ball fell to his feet inside the six yard box.

Another moment of individual brilliance handed the Roar the lead once again in the 17th minute.

This time, Nick Fitzgerald did well to cut inside the AIS defender on the edge of the area, curling the ball past Izzo into the top corner.

Despite the AIS shotstopper-s best efforts to deny the continual Brisbane attack, including fierce shots from Hyundai A-League pair Visconte and James Meyer, Fitzgerald had his brace on the half hour mark with a left-footed shot into the bottom corner of the net.

The away side were handed a lifeline in first half stoppage time when Brisbane Roar-s Matt Mundy, in action for the first time since recovering from knee surgery in the off-season, received his marching orders for a last man challenge on goalscorer Prioa.

With the final kick of the opening 45 minutes, Proia beat Roar goalkeeper Matt Acton to reduce the deficit heading into the break.

After the excitement and quick-paced nature of the first half, the later stages of the game were much more settled and either side managed to create many chances in front of goal.

Prioa had a handful of prime opportunities to grab his hat-trick, including a free kick from the edge of the box and a one-on-one with Acton, while Brisbane-s Ken Dougall was doing his best, delivering pinpoint corners that proved difficult for Izzo to handle.

With 15 minutes left on the clock, AIS defender Riley Woodcock was fortunate to stay on the field following a two-footed tackle on James Donachie but referee Alan Milliner deemed the foul worthy of only a yellow card.

However, Woodcock wasn-t as lucky in the 89th minute when he received his second bookable offence for dissent and both teams finished the game with ten men.

Brisbane Roar Head Coach John Sime was disappointed with the overall performance of the 90 minutes but took pride in the character of players following Mundy-s dismissal.

“We didn-t play to the level we are capable of, individually or collectively,” he said.

“We worked so hard to get the goals that we had but we gave away two cheap goals.

“However, when we went down to ten men, I-ll give them full marks for the effort and character that they showed, they worked very hard.”

Brisbane Roar (George LAMBADARIDIS 10-, Nick FITZGERALD 17-, 30-)
Australian Institute of Sport (Anthony PROIA 12-, 45-)
Saturday, 12 November 2011
Cleveland Showgrounds, Waterloo Street, Cleveland
Kick-off: 3.30pm
Alan Milliner

Brisbane Roar: 1. Matthew ACTON (gk), 2. Matt MUNDY, 3. Corey BROWN (17. Jack HINGERT 45-), 4. James DONACHIE, 5. George LAMBADARIDIS (10. Tomislav CIRJAK 60-), 7. Chris BUSH (c), 8. Jason GERIA (6. Ross ARCHIBALD 53-), 13. Kenneth DOUGALL, 15. Nick FITZGERALD, 16. James MEYER, 18. Rocky VISCONTE

Substitutes Not Used: 20. James ECCLES (gk)

Yellow Cards: None

Red Cards: Matt MUNDY 45-

Australian Institute of Sport: 1. Paul IZZO (gk) (20. Jordan THURTELL (gk) 78-), 2. Matthew DAVIES, 3. Riley WOODCOCK, 4. Connor CHAPMAN (c), 5. Jack GREEN, 7. Benjamin GARUCCIO, 8. Yianni PERKATIS (6. Mitchell OXBORROW 45-), 9. Anthony PROIA, 10. Stefan MAUK (12. Daniel BARAC 45-), 11. Kwabena BOAHENE (21. Benjamin WARLAND 57-), 16. Jacob MELLING

Substitutes Not Used: None

Yellow Cards: Mitchell OXBORROW 69-, Riley WOODCOCK 73-, 89-

Red Cards: Riley WOODCOCK 89-