Young Roar face tough start to 2016 NPL season


Brisbane Roar Youth will open their PlayStation 4 National Premier Leagues (NPL) Queensland 2016 season with a clash against last season’s grand finalists Brisbane Strikers FC.

The clash is scheduled for Saturday, 27 February, in the season draw released this morning by Football Queensland.

The Brisbane Roar Hyundai A-League team is away to Adelaide United on the same night.

The Young Roar, who won their Foxtel National Youth League game 10-0 against Adelaide United on Saturday, have a potentially challenging start to the new PlayStation 4 NPL Queensland season.

After the opening round clash against the Strikers, the Young Roar are away to last season’s Champions Moreton Bay United followed by a home match against South West Queensland Thunder and then away to Olympic FC.

The Men’s season is over 22 rounds followed by the PlayStation 4 NPL Queensland Finals Series, featuring the top four placed teams at the conclusion of the home-and-away season, on Saturday, 27 August.

The Grand Final is scheduled for 3 September.

Brisbane Roar Youth will be eligible to contest the PlayStation 4 NPL Queensland Finals Series but should they finish Champions, they will not be able to advance to the National Finals under the competition rules because of the possible conflict of one club having two teams in the Westfield FFA Cup. The runners-up would take their place. 

Jaiden Walker

The Young Roar’s draw (home venue and kick off times to be confirmed):

ROUND 1: Brisbane Strikers FC (HOME, Saturday, 27 February)

ROUND 2: Moreton Bay Utd FC (AWAY, Saturday, 5 March, Wolter Pk, 6pm)

ROUND 3: SW Qld Thunder (HOME, Saturday, 12 March)

ROUND 4: Olympic FC (AWAY, Sunday, 20 March, Goodwin Pk, 6pm)

ROUND 5: Sunshine Coast FC (AWAY, Sunday, 3 April, SC Stadium, 4pm)

ROUND 6: Western Pride FC (HOME, Saturday, 9 April)

ROUND 7: FNQ FC Heat (AWAY, Saturday, 16 April, Barlow Pk TBC, 6.30pm)

ROUND 8: Northern Fury (HOME, Saturday, 23 April)

ROUND 9: Brisbane City FC (AWAY, Saturday, 30 April, CTM Stadium, 6.30pm)

ROUND 10: Gold Coast City FC (HOME, Sunday, 15 May)

ROUND 11: Redlands Utd FC (HOME, Saturday, 21 May)

ROUND 12: Brisbane Strikers (AWAY, Saturday, 28 May, Perry Pk, 6pm)

ROUND 13: Moreton Bay Utd (HOME, Saturday 4 June)

ROUND 14: SW Qld Thunder (AWAY, Sunday, 19 June, TGS, 2pm)

ROUND 15: Olympic FC (HOME, Saturday 25 June)

ROUND 16: Sunshine Coast FC (HOME, Saturday, 2 July)

ROUND 17: Western Pride FC (AWAY, Saturday 9 July, Briggs Rd, 7pm)

ROUND 18: FNQ FC Heat (HOME, Saturday, 23 July)

ROUND 19: Northern Fury (AWAY, Saturday, 30 July, TSV Reserve, 7pm)

ROUND 20: Brisbane City (HOME, Sunday, 7 August)

ROUND 21: Gold Coast City (AWAY, Sunday, 14 August, Mallawa Cplx, 3pm)

ROUND 22: Redlands Utd FC (AWAY, Friday, 19 August, Cleveland, 7pm)

Dane Ingham