No upcoming games
Future matches are yet to be scheduled

Please update your browser

Unfortunately you cannot view this website on the current version of your browser. Please either update your browser or use an alternative browser.

Mar 01, 2013   |  8:14PM AET

No changes to Roar team

No changes to Roar team

Brisbane Roar Head Coach Mike Mulvey will name an unchanged starting eleven for the first time in his tenure as he attempts to guide his team to a win over Adelaide United tomorrow night at Hindmarsh Stadium.

Brisbane Roar Head Coach Mike Mulvey will name an unchanged starting eleven for the first time in his tenure as he attempts to guide his team to a win over Adelaide United tomorrow night at Hindmarsh Stadium.

Despite not taking all three points in last weekend-s 0-0 draw with Newcastle Jets, Mulvey saw enough in his players- spirited performance to warrant no changes to the starting side against third-placed United.

“No reason to change, we-ve been creating chances and we just need to be a bit more ruthless in the final third,” Mulvey said.

“I-ve been very happy with the way we-ve built out from the back, to the lines – we want to play football, we want to play it all across the park, we want players who are confident and comfortable on the ball and we-re getting that.

“We-re just not getting that killer touch in front of goal but that will come.

“Adelaide are in the top three pushing for a top two position and we-re pushing for a top six position so there is all to play for.

“A lot of our training this week has been very good and hopefully we can take that into the game.”

Ivan Franjic, who has played across the backline in a couple of different positions since Mulvey took over in December, was deployed in a more attacking role against the Jets, in front of Jack Hingert on the right.

The Roar coach explained his decision by saying that he was trying to emulate the workrate of Thomas Broich and Shane Stefanutto on the alternate wing.

That particular combination between the two has been particularly effective in recent weeks, including setting up Steven Lustica-s opener against Wellington Phoenix in round 21.

“What they brought to the team last week was that bit of quality on the right hand side in terms of interaction and rotation of movement,” Mulvey said.

“We created some dangerous situations for the oppositions through that and we-ve been doing that regularly with Stef and Thomas on the left.

“If we can do it on both sides, then we are a danger on both sides and that-s a very important point.

“I think Ivan relishes that position and we-ll see how far they have progressed this week.”

Hindmarsh Stadium was the venue of the Roar-s first away victory of the season – a 1-0 result on Boxing Day – with Mulvey aware that both times these two sides have met in the 2012/13 campaign, it-s been just the sole goal that has separated the team.

The Brisbane boss backed Besart Berisha, playing in his 50th Hyundai A-League match for the club, to cause problems for against an Adelaide defence that has leaked 13 goals in their past six outings.

“Hopefully he can celebrate his milestone with a goal and three points,” Mulvey said.

Adelaide United v Brisbane Roar
Saturday, 2 March 2013
Hindmarsh Stadium, Adelaide
Kick off:
5pm local time / 4.30pm Brisbane time
Referee: Shaun Evans

Live and exclusive broadcast on FOX Sports 1HD and Sky Sports 2

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Michael Theo (gk), 3. Shane Stefanutto, 4. Matt Jurman, 5. Ivan Franjic, 7. Besart Berisha, 8. Massimo Murdocca, 9. Stef Nijland, 10. Henrique, 11. Ben Halloran, 13. Jade North, 14. Steven Lustica, 15. James Donachie, 17. Mitch Nichols, 18. Luke Brattan, 19. Jack Hingert, 20. Matt Acton (gk), 22. Thomas Broich (c), 25. George Lambadaridis. *three to be omitted

Ins: 8. Massimo Murdocca (returns from injury), 4. Matt Jurman (promoted), 25. George Lambadaridis (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: 2. Matt Smith (hip – season)

Adelaide United squad: 1.Eugene Galekovic (gk) (c), 2.Osama Malik, 3.Nigel Boogaard, 5.Iain Fyfe, 6.Cassio, 8.Marcelo Carrusca, 10.Dario Vidosic, 12.Antony Golec, 14.Cameron Watson, 17.Iain Ramsay, 18.Fabian Barbiero, 20.Paul Izzo (gk), 21.Jeronimo Neumann, 23.Evan Kostopoulos, 24.Awer Mabil, 25.Tomi Juric *one to be omitted

Ins: Iain Fyfe (returns from suspension), Jeronimo Neumann (returns from stomach virus)
Out: Jon McKain (suspended – 1 match)
Unavailable: Bruce Djite (ankle – 1 week)